The superintendent and staff pose for a photo while a principal holds an award

Elizabeth Scott Elementary School has been selected as a 2023 National ESEA Distinguished School. No more than two schools per state receive this prestigious designation each year. On Dec. 4, Chesterfield County Public Schools leaders joined Virginia Department of Education representatives to announce the award to students and staff members.

Schools may be nominated in three categories: exceptional student performance for two consecutive years; closing achievement gaps between student groups; or excellence in serving special populations of students. This year, Elizabeth Scott Elementary was recognized for excellence in serving English learners. In 2013, Elizabeth Scott Elementary was also named a National ESEA Distinguished School for closing achievement gaps.

Built in 2007 in the Bermuda District, Elizabeth Scott Elementary enrolls almost 800 students in grades K-5. About a third of the school’s students are English learners, and half are economically disadvantaged. Elizabeth Scott Elementary is accredited, with student performance at the Title I school exceeding the state average in reading, math, science and history. Since 2019 when the school began offering Spanish as a dual language immersion program, learning and relationships have strengthened throughout Elizabeth Scott Elementary.

Dr. Mervin B. Daugherty, superintendent of Chesterfield County Public Schools, said, “It is a great achievement for a school to be recognized as a National ESEA Distinguished School — and Elizabeth Scott Elementary has earned this award for a second time! The leaders, teachers and staff members are working hard to make sure every student achieves, and their expertise and dedication are making a difference. Congratulations to everyone in the school community!”

Eight schools in Chesterfield County Public Schools are recognized as National ESEA Distinguished Schools:

  • Elizabeth Scott Elementary in 2023 and 2013
  • Crestwood Elementary in 2021
  • Ettrick Elementary in 2018
  • Bensley Elementary in 2016 and 2002
  • Bellwood Elementary in 2011
  • Beulah Elementary in 2010
  • Harrowgate Elementary in 2006
  • Chalkley Elementary in 2005

ESEA is the abbreviation for the federal Elementary and Secondary Education Act. Title I of ESEA provides funds to Virginia school divisions for supplemental educational support to eligible schools to raise achievement levels of students at risk of academic failure because of poverty and other factors. More information about National ESEA Distinguished Schools is available at